Concept

Beaufort 2018

Heidi BalletBeaufort is a triennial art project that extends along the entire Belgian coastline. It is a project, launched in 2003, in which the sea often plays the main role. In Beaufort 2018, the sea will be illuminated as a place that is both uncontrollable but at the same time links us to the rest of the world. Every participating artist comes from a country that borders on the sea. An underlying theme of this edition is the role of permanent monuments. How do they lend meaning to a place? How are they interpreted by local residents? And to what extent is the power of their message shaped by the Zeitgeist?

Monuments have traditionally been erected to honour individuals who made a significant contribution to society. On the other hand, they are also often symbols of tragic events like disasters and wars in which many people died. They remind us that we cannot always control every social process, such as power and governance. Despite the human longing for order and peace, history is subject to the rhythm of ebb and flow.

Monuments are in a sense an effort, in material form, to immortalize ideas. They do so while the meaning and force of ideas are determined by the spirit of the age. Certain colonial monuments, for example, glorify heroic deeds, but nowadays their message is obsolete. Recent debates about the statues that recall the Belgian colonial past are a consequence of this uncomfortable situation. Should they be removed because they no longer reflect today’s views or should they be allowed to stay but accompanied by a revised text providing explanations? The same debates took place in former Communist countries, where statues of past leaders have been pulled down from their pedestals. The intrinsic value of a monument or of heroic deeds that may or may not command respect only becomes clear after the passage of considerable time. It is inextricably linked with changing social attitudes and growing knowledge.

Do we need new monuments? If so, how can they accurately reflect the view of our own age? Is it even possible to do so?

The reality of climate change has brought us to a turning point. We feel obliged to deal more humbly with the elements. While in the past, human beings arrogated to themselves supreme rule over the earth, we are now discovering limits to our powers, and thus also limits to our entrenched Western thought. The mirror of the sea rises, and our imaginary control takes a step back. Millions of people are at risk of become climate refugees as a result of our global environmental mismanagement.

Our vulnerability in the face of nature comes into sharpest focus on the coast. The artists of Beaufort 2018 have given expression to the changing relationship between humans and nature. Their works embody at the same time a reflection on the limitations of the quest for material perpetuation through the construction of monuments. It is in this sense that Beaufort 2018 is permeated by an ancient but also eminently relevant homage to the supremacy of the sea.

Visit Beaufort from 30 March to 30 September 2018.
 

Curator Heidi Ballet

Heidi Ballet (born in 1979 in Hasselt, Belgium) works from Brussels and Berlin as an independent curator.In 2017, she curated the Lofoten Biennial (LIAF) in Norway in collaboration with Milena Hoegsberg under the title I Taste The Future, and in 2016 she curated the series of exhibitions Our Ocean, Your Horizon in Jeu de Paume in Paris and the musée d'art contemporain (CAPC) in Bordeaux, working with artists Edgardo Aragon, Guan Xiao, Patrick Bernier & Olive Martin and Basim Magdy.In the same year she also curated The Morality Reflex, a group exhibition in the Vilnius Contemporary Art Centre (CAC).Between 2013 and 2015, she worked as a research curator for the After Year Zero exhibition in the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin (2013) and the Museum for Modern Art in Warsaw (2015).In 2012, she was assistant curator of the Taipei Biennial and before that worked from 2008 to 2012 as gallery director for Jan Mot in Brussels.
 

HistoryJan Fabre Searching for Utopia

The first edition of Beaufort took place in 2003 and was organised by then director of the Ostend Provincial Museum for Modern Art Willy Van den Bussche who would also remain the triennial’s curator in 2006. Monumental works found their place against the unique backdrop of the Coast, resulting in images like Louise Bourgeois’s spider and the human figures of Antony Gormley.

Current director of Mu.ZEE Phillip Van den Bossche took over for the 2009 edition, focusing on works that interacted with the sea, the surrounding heritage, local residents and the region’s rich history.
He was also curator in 2012 too, this time focusing mainly on Europe and collaborating with an artistic committee and intendant Jan Moeyaert.
Then in 2015, the exhibition entitled Beaufort Beyond the Borders was put together by curators: Phillip Van den Bossche, Hilde Teerlinck, Lorenzo Benedetti and Patrick Ronse. Three compelling natural and heritage locations played a central part in the edition: the Zwin nature park, Raversyde provincial domain and visitor centre De Nachtegaal.

Over the years, several works were bought to create a park of sculptures along the Belgian coastline.

Sculpture park Beaufort

Concept


Beaufort 2018

Heidi BalletBeaufort est un projet artistique triennal couvrant tout le Littoral belge. Il a débuté en 2003 et la mer y joue souvent le rôle principal. Dans le cadre de Beaufort 2018, celle-ci est présentée comme un élément indomptable, mais qui nous relie en même temps avec le reste du monde. Chaque artiste participant provient d’un pays bordé par la mer. Le rôle des monuments permanents est un thème sous-jacent de cette édition. Comment donnent-ils un sens à un endroit ? Quel type d’interprétations leur attribuent les personnes qui habitent autour ? Et dans quelle mesure la puissance de leur message est-elle assujettie à l’air du temps ?

Traditionnellement, les monuments sont érigés pour des personnes ayant apporté une contribution importante à la société. Ils symbolisent souvent aussi des événements tragiques, comme des catastrophes et des guerres, ayant fait de nombreuses victimes. Ils nous rappellent que tous les processus sociaux, comme le pouvoir et la domination, ne sont pas toujours sous notre contrôle. Malgré le besoin d’ordre et de paix de l’être humain, l’histoire est soumise à un rythme de flux et de reflux.

Dans un certain sens, on peut dire que les monuments sont des tentatives, devenues physiques, d’immortaliser des idées. Et que la signification et la puissance de celles-ci sont déterminées par l’esprit de l’époque. Certains monuments coloniaux, par exemple, glorifient des actes héroïques, mais leur message est aujourd’hui dépassé. Des discussions récentes concernant les statues rappelant le passé colonial de la Belgique découlent de cette situation inconfortable. Faut-il les démonter parce qu’elles ne correspondent plus à la mentalité actuelle, ou les laisser en place en les accompagnant d’un texte explicatif ? Les mêmes débats ont animé les pays qui ont abjuré le communisme et où les anciens dirigeants ont été descendus de leur piédestal. La valeur intrinsèque d’un monument ou des actes héroïques, qui imposent ou non le respect, ne devient visible qu’au bout d’un long moment. Elle est entrelacée de rapports sociaux changeants et de connaissances qui ne cessent de se développer.

Avons-nous besoin de nouveaux monuments ? Et si oui, de quelle façon peuvent-ils refléter correctement les conceptions de cette époque ? Pour autant que ce soit possible…

La réalité des changements climatiques nous a menés à un point de bascule. Nous sommes obligés d’être plus économes avec les éléments. Si l’homme s’est attribué tous les pouvoirs par le passé, en se basant sur les développements scientifiques, il commence à voir les limites de ses possibilités et donc également celles de notre conception occidentale sclérosée. Le niveau de la mer monte et notre contrôle, qui n’existe que dans notre imagination, bat en retraite. Des millions de personnes risquent de devenir des réfugiés climatiques à cause de notre mauvaise gestion écologique mondiale.

Notre fragilité vis-à-vis de la nature est la plus perceptible au Littoral. Les artistes de Beaufort 2018 expriment le changement de relation entre l’homme et la nature et les œuvres incarnent aussi une réflexion sur les limites de l’immortalisation matérielle par la construction de monuments. C’est dans cette optique que la triennale Beaufort 2018 se veut un hommage séculaire et terriblement actuel à la toute-puissance de la mer.

Visitez Beaufort entre 30 mars et 30 septembre 2018.

 

 

La commissaire Heidi Ballet

Heidi Ballet (°1979, Hasselt) travaille comme commissaire indépendante à Bruxelles et à Berlin. En 2017, elle a été en charge de la biennale d'art de Lofoten (LIAF), en Norvège, sous le thème I Taste The Future, en compagnie de Milena Hoegsberg. En 2016, elle a été commissaire de la série d'expositions Notre océan, votre horizon au Jeu de Paume à Paris et au musée d'art contemporain(CAPC) de Bordeaux, avec les artistes Edgardo Aragon, Guan Xiao, Patrick Bernier & Olive Martin et Basim Magdy. Toujours en 2016, elle a organisé l'exposition de groupe The Morality Reflex au centre d'art contemporain (CAC) de Vilnius. Entre 2013 et 2015, elle a collaboré en tant que commissaire de recherche à l'exposition After Year Zero accueillie au Haus der Kulturen der Welt de Berlin (2013) et au musée d'art moderne de Varsovie (2015). En 2012, Heidi Ballet a travaillé comme commissaire adjointe à la biennale de Taipai, et de 2008 à 2012, comme directrice de la galerie Jan Mot, à Bruxelles.

 

 

L'histoire du festival Beaufort

La première édition du Beaufort s'est tenue en 2003, sous l'impulsion de son fondateur, Willy Van den Bussche, alors directeur du musée d'art moderne PMMK à Oostende. Il fut commissaire des éditions de 2003 et de 2006. Des œuvres monumentales furent installées à ces occasions dans le cadre unique du littoral. Parmi les sculptures emblématiques, citons l'araignée de Louise Bourgeois et les personnages d'Antony Gormley.

En 2009, Philip Van den Bossche, actuel directeur du Mu.ZEE, prit le relais comme commissaire. Il se concentra sur des œuvres qui établissaient une forme de dialogue avec la mer ainsi qu'avec le patrimoine, les habitants et l'histoire du littoral.

Il se chargea également de la sélection artistique de l'édition de 2012, en collaboration avec le commissaire et directeur artistique Jan Moeyaert de l'asbl Ku(n)st. L'accent fut alors mis sur l'Europe.

En 2015, c'est une équipe de commissaires qui se chargea de sélectionner les œuvres, composée de Philip Van den Bossche, Hilde Teerlinck, Lorenzo Benedetti et Patrick Ronse, sous le titre 'Buiten de Grenzen' - au-delà des frontières. Trois emplacements naturels ou patrimoniaux significatifs y occupèrent une place centrale : la réserve naturelle du Zwin, le domaine Raversyde et le centre pour les visiteurs De Nachtegaal.

Au fil des éditions, diverses œuvres ont été achetées, faisant progressivement apparaitre un parc des sculptures à la mer, qui s'étend sur plusieurs communes.

Décourvrir le parc de sculptures Beaufort